Oil Prices Mixed Ahead of EIA Crude Inventories, OPEC Report

0
249
© Reuters.  Crude prices mixed with focus on OPEC monthly report and U.S. inventory data© Reuters. Crude prices mixed with focus on OPEC monthly report and U.S. inventory data

Investing.com – prices showed mixed trade on Wednesday, while investors looked ahead to the release of official data on U.S. crude inventories and the Organization of Exporting Countries’ monthly report.

-traded gained 37 cents, or 0.53%, at $69.62 a barrel by 5:31 AM ET (9:31 GMT).

Meanwhile, , the benchmark for outside the U.S., lost 14 cents, or 0.18%, to $78.92.

The American Petroleum Institute reported late Tuesday that U.S. crude fell by , smashing expectations for a much smaller decline.

Article continues below Advertisement...

The U.S. will release its at 10:30 AM ET (14:30 GMT) amid forecast for a draw of 1.3 million barrels.

Also on the docket, the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries will release its monthly report that includes forecast for global demand for oil at approximately 7:10 AM ET (11:10 GMT).

The potential impact of Hurricane Florence, that is moving towards the east coast of the United States, added to market concerns about U.S. sanctions on Iran to power an overnight spike in oil prices that was the largest spike since June.

Reports suggest Iranian oil exports are beginning to take a hit as buyers look for alternative supplies in the face of U.S. sanctions which will take effect on November 4.

Hurricane Florence, a large Category 4 storm, is approaching North Carolina and South Carolina. It is expected to reach the continental U.S. this week.

People have been buying gasoline ahead of the storm and the surge in demand led to a spike in demand for refined products and crude.

As part of an effort to keep oil prices from spiking, U.S. energy officials have been meeting with their counterparts from and this week. The three countries are the largest oil producers in the world. The U.S. wants to ensure Saudi Arabia and keep supplies up to limit price rises.

U.S. Energy Secretary Rick Perry met Saudi Energy Minister Khalid al-Falih on Monday. They discussed the state of global oil markets, potential for U.S.-Saudi civil nuclear cooperation along with efforts to share technologies for the production of clean fuels, according to a statement from the U.S. Department of Energy.

Perry will also meet with Russian Energy Minister Alexander Novak on Thursday in , a U.S. source and a diplomatic source told Reuters on Sunday night.

In other energy trading, fell 0.35% to $2.0165 a gallon by 5:32 AM ET (9:32 GMT), while dropped 0.15% to $2.2487 a gallon.

Lastly, traded up 0.42% to $2.840 per million British thermal units.

Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, ) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.

Source: Investing.com