Gold Prices Erase Post-Election Gains With Fed on Deck

0
15
© Reuters.  Gold falls back, under pressure from the dollar, as markets prep for Fed decision.© Reuters. Gold falls back, under pressure from the dollar, as markets prep for Fed decision.

Investing.com – Gold prices erased gains seen a day earlier when news that the Democrats had taken control of the House of Representatives, effectively creating a political gridlock in Congress, had dampened demand for the dollar and benefited the precious metal. As gold pulled back to Tuesday’s closing price, investors focused their attention on the upcoming monetary policy decision from the .

At 9:13 AM ET (14:13 GMT), for December delivery on the Comex division of the Mercantile Exchange fell $2.80, or 0.23%, to $1,223.40 a troy ounce.

Meanwhile, the U.S. , which tracks the greenback against a basket of six major currencies, gained 0.20% to 96.

A stronger greenback makes the dollar-denominated precious metal more expensive for holders of foreign currencies.

Article continues below Advertisement...

The Fed is widely expected to hold rates steady at the current range of when announces its decision at 2:00 PM ET (19:00 GMT) Thursday, but investors will scrutinize the for any hints on how the Fed views inflation and the economy.

Investors are concerned that rising wages and increasing inflationary pressures will push the Fed to raise rates at a faster pace than expected and markets currently expect the next hike to come at the following meeting in December.

Higher U.S. interest rates tend to boost the dollar and also push up bond yields, reducing the appeal of non-yielding bullion.

In other metals trading, lost 0.98% at $14.385 a troy ounce by 9:15 AM ET (14:15 GMT).

slumped 1.65% to $1,102.20 an ounce, while sister metal fell 0.75% at $872.20.

In base metals, traded down 1.47% to $2.712 a pound

Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, ) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.

Source: Investing.com