0.3 C
New York
Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Oil Prices Under Pressure as Iran Shows Support for Modest Supply Increase

Oil Prices Under Pressure as Iran Shows Support for Modest Supply Increase© Reuters. Oil trades lower ahead of OPEC meeting

Investing.com – Oil prices traded lower in midmorning trade on Thursday, though the barrel of West Texas was hovering near the unchanged mark, as Iran backed down from complete opposition to an increase in output, paving the way to a possible agreement between the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC).

New York-traded slipped 4 cents, or about 0.1%, to $65.71 a barrel by 10:44AM ET (14:44GMT).

Meanwhile, , the benchmark for oil prices outside the U.S., traded down $1.18, or 1.6%, to $73.56.

OPEC is planning a review their current production agreement with non-OPEC producers led by Russia that has held back 1.8 million bpd from the market for the past 18 months.

Saudi Arabia and Russia, both of which have the ability to increase production, had been pushing for increases in output to cover shortfalls seen by Iran and Venezuela. However, OPEC members including Iraq, Iran and Venezuela had shown their prefererence to keep the supply limits in place.

Iranian Oil Minister Bijan Zanganeh said that he was feeling “very good” about OPEC’s production levels and indicated Iran could accept a modest supply hike, suggesting that members may be moving closer to an agreement ahead of their 174th official meeting on Friday in Vienna.

The will kick off Friday at 3:30AM ET (7:30GMT) and a press conference is tentatively scheduled for 7:00AM ET (11:00GMT).

That meeting will be followed by a gathering of OPEC officials with their non-member allies on Saturday.

In other energy trading, lost 0.1% $2.0160 a gallon by 10:45AM ET (14:45GMT), while slid 1.1% to $2.0831 a gallon.

Lastly, traded up 0.7% to $2.985 per million British thermal units, having trimmed gains after weekly data showed that .

Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.

Source: Investing.com

Related Articles

Stay Connected

11,066FansLike
12,893FollowersFollow
754FollowersFollow
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

Popular Articles