4.7 C
New York
Tuesday, December 7, 2021

Oil Prices Hover Near August Highs Ahead of U.S. Inventory Data

Oil Prices Hover Near August Highs Ahead of U.S. Inventory Data© Reuters.

Investing.com – U.S. crude hovered near August highs nearing midday trade on Tuesday as investors prepared for the latest weekly data on American oil stockpiles.

New York-traded dipped 18 cents, or 0.26%, at $68.69 a barrel by 11:42 AM ET (15:42 GMT), not far from its intraday high of $69.19. The month’s high at $69.92 was reached on August 6.

Meanwhile, , the benchmark for oil prices outside the U.S., inched up 1 cent, or 0.01%, to $76.51, its highest level since July 11.

The American Petroleum Institute is due to release its for the week ended August 10 at 4:30 PM ET (20:30 GMT) Tuesday while will be released on Wednesday.

Last week’s numbers showed a larger-than-expected draw on inventories, curtailing concerns about oversupply.

Additionally, an OPEC and non-OPEC monitoring committee found that oil producers participating in a supply-reduction agreement , two sources familiar with the matter told Reuters on Monday.

OPEC and other major oil producers led by Russia agreed on June 22-23 to reduce their compliance to production curbs to 100% when it had reached nearly 150% due to shortages and disruptions in member countries such as Venezuela, Libya or Angola.

The data leaked to Reuters suggested that production had not increased as much as planned.

In other energy trading, fell 0.60% to $1.9751 a gallon by 11:47 AM ET (15:47 GMT), while advanced 0.19% to $2.2248 a gallon.

Lastly, lost 1.01% to $2.840 per million British thermal units.

Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.

Source: Investing.com

Related Articles

Stay Connected

10,930FansLike
12,893FollowersFollow
752FollowersFollow
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

Popular Articles